Old Dominion College

Bud’s Emporium

Bud’s Emporium was the snack bar and gathering spot for students at the Norfolk Division of the College of William & Mary. The snack bar was named after Audrey T. “Bud” Paul, a business administration student, and was the main dining option on campus until Webb University Center opened in 1966. History When the Norfolk… read more »

Strome College of Business

The Strome College of Business is one of the colleges at Old Dominion University (ODU). Most of the schools and offices for the college, including the dean’s office, are located in Constant Hall. The Strome College of Business is the oldest college on campus and consists of the School of Accountancy, Department of Economics, Department… read more »

College of Sciences

The College of Sciences is one of the colleges at Old Dominion University (ODU). The dean’s office for the college is located in the Oceanography and Physical Sciences Building. The college consists of the Department of Biological Sciences, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Department of Computer Science, Department of Mathematics and Statistics, Department of Ocean, Earth… read more »

College of Arts and Letters

The College of Arts and Letters is one of the colleges at Old Dominion University (ODU). Classrooms and department offices, including the dean’s office, are located in the Batten Arts and Letters Building (BAL). The college is the largest college on campus and is made up of the Department of Art, African-American and African Studies… read more »

A. Rufus Tonelson

A. Rufus Tonelson was a student, teacher, administrator, and benefactor of Old Dominion University (ODU). Tonelson was among the first three students to register for courses at the Norfolk Division of the College of William & Mary in the fall of 1930. A start athlete in baseball and basketball, Tonelson was a member of the… read more »

Charles Sibley

Chalres Sibley was the founder and first chair of the Department of Art at Old Dominion University (ODU). A noted painter, Sibley taught all the art classes for a period of time after he arrived in 1955 out of a room in the Old Larchmont School. He received his bachelor degree from Ohio State University,… read more »

Greek Rock

The Greek Rock is a testament to the strength of friendship and bonds of sororities and fraternities at Old Dominion University (ODU). Nestled on the Kaufman Mall walkways between Monarch Hall and Kaufman Hall, the rock lists all the current and past fraternities and sororities at ODU. History The Greek rock was dedicated in March… read more »

Technical Institute

The Technical Institute was one of the larger programs of the Norfolk Division of the College of William & Mary and provided vocational skills for those over 16 in areas such as auto mechanics, drafting, photography, and air conditioning repair. History The Norfolk Division established free classes during World War II for students to attain… read more »

Gresham Hall

Gresham Hall is one of several dormitories on the campus of Old Dominion University (ODU). The building is located on the east side of campus near the University Village between 48th Street and 49th Street. Made up of two buildings, the Gresham Complex consists of the original, H-shaped structure, dubbed Gresham Main, which can hold… read more »

Rogers Hall

Rogers Hall, one of the two buildings in the Rogers Complex, is a residential dormitory catered to incoming freshmen located on the east side of Hampton Boulevard on 49th Street. Rogers Main, a three-story H-shaped building, houses approximately 300 students while another building, Rogers East, houses approximately 140 additional students. History Prior to the early… read more »

Sidebar